Magic the Gathering: Pithing Needle (Kaladesh Inventions)

Pithing Needle
Kaladesh Inventions

Pithing Needle

Artifact, {1} (1)

As Pithing Needle enters the battlefield, name a card.

Activated abilities of sources with the chosen name can't be activated unless they're mana abilities.

Rulings

  • 01/06/2005: Pithing Needle affects cards regardless of what zone they’re in. This includes cards in hand, cards in the graveyard, and exiled cards. For example, a player can’t cycle Eternal Dragon or return an Eternal Dragon from his or her graveyard to hand if Pithing Needle naming Eternal Dragon is on the battlefield.
  • 01/06/2005: You can name any card, even if that card doesn’t normally have an activated ability. You can’t name a token unless that token has the same name as a card.
  • 01/06/2005: If you name a card that has both a mana ability and another activated ability, the mana ability can be activated but the other ability can’t be activated.
  • 01/10/2009: Once Pithing Needle has left the battlefield, activated abilities of sources with the chosen name can be activated again.
  • 01/10/2012: Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form “[cost]: [effect].” Triggered abilities and static abilities of the named card work normally.

Printings

Formats legality

  • Not playable in Standard
NEXT [217]
nickname