Magic the Gathering: Chalice of the Void (Kaladesh Inventions)

Chalice of the Void
Kaladesh Inventions

Chalice of the Void

Artifact, {X}{X} (0)

Chalice of the Void enters the battlefield with X charge counters on it.

Whenever a player casts a spell with converted mana cost equal to the number of charge counters on Chalice of the Void, counter that spell.

Rulings

  • 01/12/2004: A mana cost of {X}{X} means that you pay twice X. If you want X to be 3, you pay 6 mana to cast Chalice of the Void.
  • 01/12/2004: The number of counters on Chalice of the Void matters only at the time the spell is cast. Changing the number of charge counters on Chalice of the Void after a spell has been cast won’t change whether the ability counters the spell. If the Chalice had the correct number of counters when the spell was cast, its ability will trigger. If the Chalice had too many or too few counters when the spell was cast, the Chalice’s ability won’t trigger.
  • 01/12/2004: If there are zero charge counters on Chalice of the Void, it counters each spell with a converted mana cost of 0.
  • 01/12/2004: Chalice of the Void has to be on the battlefield at the end of casting a spell for the ability to trigger. If you sacrifice Chalice of the Void as a cost to cast a spell, its ability can’t trigger.

Printings

Formats legality

  • Restricted in Vintage
  • Not playable in Standard

Purchase Chalice of the Void (MPS) from a seller on DeckTutor

Seller Lang. Cond. F. S. A. M. Subtitle Lot Quantity Price
Chalice of the Void
MarKino81 265 (100%) Up
en NM foil 1 150,00 €
Chalice of the Void
paranoid91 21 (100%) Up
en M foil Sbustata e messa in perfect size. 1 175,00 €
Chalice of the Void
shaka7 182 (100%) Up
en NM foil 2 182,00 €
MMint GDGood
NMNear Mint PLPlayed
EXExcellent POPoor
VGVery Good Full grading guide
nickname